Letter About Dorothy’s Death

June 15, 2009 at 7:45 am (Johnson Roots, Lane Roots) (, , )

Dear Mother and all,

I know that you are all as stunned to hear of Dorothy’s death as we are. It wasn’t at all expected. She was operated on for Goiter April 7, in the morning and seemed to be doing very good and then all of a sudden they had put her under an oxygen tent but it couldn’t rally her. She was just too run down and under weight. She weighed only a bare 100 lbs. Dorothy went to the hospital April 3rd in the evening and they waited to operate because she was so weak but they didn’t wait long enough.

Wilson called me at work to-day and he called Emma Lou. She called Morgan and Jim is out there now I hope eating something as he is just a nervous wreck. Mrs. Lane has the children right now and Wilson & I are going out there to-night to try and get her to let us take them at least till after the funeral on Friday. I suppose Jim told you in his telegram that she passed away at 2:30 this morning. If ever a person was needed on this earth she was, and it is so hard to understand why she was taken.

I really don’t know much to tell you and I guess there isn’t anything to say now anyway but I thought you would want to hear a little more than a telegram could say. She is to be buried Friday at Gresham.

Wilson and I drove to Hermiston over the week end as I had four days off for Easter vacation.

Thank you so much for the nice Easter card it was nice to be remembered.

It is almost time to pick Wilson up and I think we will go immediatly to Boring to see what there is that we can do.

This is certainly a trying time for all her family and I hope and pray there can be some hope and comfort somewhere.

With love, Rae and Wilson

Leave a Reply

