The D’Abreu Line

July 15, 2010 at 11:47 pm (Andersen Roots) ()

First Generation

Georgorio D’Abreu

Son was John Luois D’Abreu

Second Generation

John Louis D’Abreu, married to Isabel

Son was John Luis D’Abreu

Third Generation

John Luis D’Abreu
b. 1794 in Calcutta, India
d. April 5, 1836

Married to Barbara Maria Lisman

Son was John Richard D’Abreu

John Richard D’Abreu

Forth Generation

John Richard D’Abreu
b. July 11, 1826 in Calcutta, India
d. 1900

1st Married to:
Amelia Marie Blond
     b. about 1829
d. about 1865

Children: (order may vary)

1) Adela Mary D’Abreu

2) Alice Emmalin D’Abreu

3) Edith Lavina D’Abreu

4) Edwin Richard D’Abreu

5) Marie Isabelle D’Abreu

6) Rosalina Enelicia D’Abreu

7) Wilfred Francio D’Abreu

8 ) John Henry D’Abreu
     b. about 1849
d. about 1914

9) Ellen Barbara D’Abreu (5th generation … She married Morten Andersen…)
     b. April 22, 1863 in Dacca, India
d. May 29, 1932 in Bangalore, India

2nd Married to Wilhemina Alexandrina Englehingl

Children (order may vary):

10) Delphine Gertrude D’Abreu

11) Florence D’Abreu

12) Frederick Alfred D’Abreu

13) Herbert D’Abreu

14) Inez Monica “Ethel” D’Abreu

15) Phoebe Agnes D’Abreu

16) Sophie Wilhelmina D’Abreu

17) Victor Eugene D’Abreu

The D’Abreu Sisters

6 Comments

  1. sivakukmarv said,

    Hi, Very nice to read this blog. I am actually from Danishpet and now living in New Jersey.

    Actually, I was in Danishpet for the past 4 weeks. Next time when I go there, I am going to visit the church and your properties.

  2. BRaman said,

    I read Julie’s blog. Ellen Barbara d’Abreu was the first Indian lady to graduate in modern medicine from Calcutta in early 1880s. Pl give me all details of her & email id of Julie. I want the details of the Bangalore family of D’Abreu, church connection, etc. I often visited Bangalore as I am trying to buy a house there. We want to settle there. Would you please reply ?

    • b r said,

      Dear Ms Julie, I want to write to you & your mother. I tried many years ago & this week. Pl would you give your email ids. Thanking you, Yours truly, BRaman.

      • Julie said,

        My Email is junglemomX4@gmail.com. My mom lives with us now, so I can give her anything you write. 🙂

      • b r said,

        Dear Ms Jessica &Julie, I am very delighted at your response. I am in Chennai (earlier called Madras),Tamil nadu state (earlier called Madras state) on the East coast of India.I saw Danishpet Rly Station while going from Salem to Chennai by train.I searched for its origins thinking that it may be related to the Danish East India Company which founded Fort Tranquebar (Tarangampaadi) on the East coast south of Chennai. I then saw your blog. My father’s family was in Aruvankaadu, Nillgiris.His father worked in the Ordnance Factory (Cordite factory) making explosives you wrote of.I saw Breeks Memorial school,Ooty and took a few photos. There are many English medium schools of the British days in Nilgiris. You wrote that you did not know the name of the grain ground into flour you ate,called raagi. Raagi is Proso Millet, grown with less water mainly in Bangalore & in its Karnataka state. You showed a photo of a postal cover sent from San Thome. It was a Portuguese colony village touching Mylapore village on the coast south of Chennai. It is part of Chennai city & has the old Roman Catholic San Thome church,said to have been where St Thomas (who is said to have come as the disciple of Jesus Christ, to a place called Kodunganalloor near Cochin (Kochi), Kerala state on the West coast of India) was buried. The body was shifted to Portugal.It is doubtful if it is the same saint as some say that it may have been another Thomas from Tuticorin an old pearl fishing harbour south of Chennai. Your story was long, interesting & sad. It makes me feel very involved & intimate with you all. You wrote that there was no future for girls in India.I wish that your family did not think so.When your girl relative was one of the 1st women doctors of Calcutta why was such a thought in your minds ?????? There was & is great future here for them. I wish that your family stayed in India. You would have prospered here too & avoided the long strenuous wastefully costly travel,search for homes, jobs,etc. My mother was a M.A.Economics, Madras Univ.,& was one of the Welfare Officers who started the 1st Welfare dept in India, in Madras Presidency Govt before Independence. When your mother studied Maths here in Madras where did she stay ?

        I like very much the appreciation in your story for your parents teaching Christian values & not to drink liquor. Is liquor not consumed in Denmark ?

        I read Julie’s blog: Ellen Barbara d’Abreu was the first Indian lady to graduate in modern medicine from Calcutta in early 1880s. Pl give me all details of her & email id of Julie. I want the details of the Bangalore family of D’Abreu, church connection, etc. I often visited Bangalore as we have relatives & ancestral connections there too & I am trying to buy a house there. We want to settle there. Would you please reply ? May God bless you all & your descendants. Yours truly, BRaman.

      • b r said,

        Dear Ms Jessica & Ms Julie, May I please know if you got my email lr of 7.9.17 ? Yours truly, BRaman.

Leave a Reply

