Samayamam Radhathil

July 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm (Nagel Roots) ()

This song was writting by my great-grandfather, Volbrecht Nagel. It is written in Malayalam, but I have found the translation into English.

These videos are of a funeral, and the song is playing in the background… On the first video, the song starts on minute 7:21 unti the end of the video, and then it finishes on the 2nd video (almost to the end of the video).

Samayamaam Radhattil (On the Chariot of Time)

by Volbrecht Nagel

I am on my homeward journey
In the chariot of time,
Running, striving all my way
To see the land of my own place
Running, striving all my way
To see the land of my own place

Just a short while, then my voyage
Will be reaching to it’s end
Thank you Jesus, Thank you my Lord
I’ll be with You, very soon!
Thank you Jesus, Thank you my Lord
I’ll be with You, very soon!

When I wake up at the day break
I am blessed and fresh new day,
For the end of all my voyage
Is closer than yesterday!
For the end of all my voyage
Is closer than yesterday!

While in peaceful night of sleep
I rest upon the arms of God
Still my chariot wheels keep rolling
Straight towards my sweet Homeland!
Still my chariot wheels keep rolling
Straight towards my sweet Homeland!

It’s no time to seek the pleasures
of this world and for the flesh
Look upon the face of God there
At my Home, that’s all I want!
Look upon the face of God there
At my Home, that’s all I want!

Nothing needed on my journey
That makes it so cumbersome
Just some water, just a li’l bread
For the thirst and hunger sake.
Just some water, just a li’l bread
For the thirst and hunger sake.

What a beauty is my Homeland
How sweet is my Lord’s reward
No, I don’t want this world’s glory
This is not my real home!
No, I don’t want this world’s glory
This is not my real home!

I do have my Home eternal
By the shore of Paradise
Tree of life with fruits the sweetest
Standing by my window side!
Tree of life with fruits the sweetest
Standing by my window side!

Angels waiting all my way long
Welcome me to my own Home
Refresh my strength, restore my soul
Meet my needs ’till I’m Home there
Refresh my strength, restore my soul
Meet my needs ’till I’m Home there

I will praise God forever more
For He made me heir of this
Glorious portion, Life eternal
With His Saints though I was dead!
Glorious portion, Life eternal
With His Saints though I was dead!

1 Comment

  1. Rejoy said,

    Hi Julie,

    Nice to meet u here!

    I got ur blogger profile from a comment written on an article about Missionary V Nagel (http://elenasamuel.blogspot.com/2008/11/vollbrecht-nagel.html). Im glad to know that u r his gr8 grand daughter.

    How is ur life? Missionary Nagel was a great man of God among our people. We used to sing his songs almost all occassions in our churches & meetings…

    Here i have a collection of Malayalam Christian songs at: http://www.ganamrutham.com

    Some Nagal songs are also there with lyrics in Malayalam language. (http://www.ganamrutham.com/search/label/V%20Nagel)
    just visit if u get some time..

    Thanks..

Leave a Reply

